Vertigo Preview

    (Vertigo, 1992, 2012, 2015)
™ and © DC Comics except Enigma (™ and ©1992 Peter Milligan and Duncan Fegredo), Mercy (™ and ©1992 J.M. DeMatteis and Paul Johnson), and Sebastian O (™ and ©1992 Grant Morrison and Steve Yeowell)

One of the more exciting events of late 1992 was the launching of DC’s Vertigo line of comics for adult readers. This line would become a critical favorite among comics readers, praised for its innovation and strong storytelling.

This one-shot previewed the new Vertigo line, including currently-running titles Sandman, Hellblazer, Doom Patrol, Animal Man, Swamp Thing, and Shade, the Changing Man. New Vertigo titles include Sandman Mystery Theatre, a Jazz Age adventure starring Wesley Dodds, the Golden Age Sandman; Kid Eternity, who raises the dead in order to raise humanity’s consciousness; Black Orchid, the tales of a beautiful and ephemeral goddess; Enigma, a dark combination of comic books and madness; Mercy, an ethereal entity who changes lives; Death: The High Cost of Living, the story of Death’s one day as a mortal; and Sebastian O, a scoundrel who believes the key to high crime is snappy dressing.

Jump to issue:


28 copies available from $0.45
Previews of DC Vertigo titles plus an exclusive Sandman storyNeil Gaiman, Peter Milligan, Matt Wagner, J.M. DeMatteis, Ann Nocenti, Grant Morrison, Dick Foreman, Jamie Delano, Rachel Pollack, Garth Ennis, Nancy CollinsChris Bachalo, Duncan Fegredo, Guy Davis, Jill Thompson, Kent Williams, Paul Johnson, Richard Case, Scot Eaton, Sean Phillips, Steve Dillon, Steve Pugh, Steve Yeowell


8 copies available from $0.50
Previews Dominique Laveau: Voodoo Child #1, The New Deadwardians #1, Saucer Country #1 & Fairest #1Selwyn Seyfu Hinds, Dan Abnett, Paul Cornell, Bill WillinghamDenys Cowan, John Floyd, I.N.J. Culbard, Ryan Kelly, Phil Jimenez, Andy Lanning


6 copies available from $0.99
2015 PreviewGilbert Hernandez, Rob Williams, Holly Black, Lauren Beukes, Dale Halvorsen, Gail Simone, Shaun Simon, David Baillie, Eric Kripke, Tom King, Simon Oliver, Peter MilliganDarwyn Cooke, Mike Dowling, Lee Garbett, Ryan Kelly, Jon Davis-Hunt, Michael Allred, Meghan Hetrick, John Higgins, Mitch Gerads, Rufus Dayglo, Brett Parson, Max Dunbar